HUST-16: Third International Workshop on HPC User Support Tools.

Call for participation

Held in conjunction with SC16: The International Conference on High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis.

Salt Lake City, UT, USA on 13 November 2016.



1 Introduction

Supercomputing centers exist to drive scientific discovery by supporting researchers in computational science fields. To make users more productive in the complex HPC environment, HPC centers employ user support teams. These teams serve many roles, from setting up accounts, to consulting on math libraries and code optimization, to managing HPC software stacks. Adequately supporting scientists can often be a struggle for the support teams. HPC environments are extremely complex, and combined with the complexity of multi-user installations, exotic hardware, and maintaining research software, supporting HPC users can be extremely demanding. Meeting all of these competing demands of the scientist often results in the creation of new tools and establishment of new policies and best practices.

With the third HUST workshop, we will continue to provide a necessary forum for system administrators, user support team members, tool developers, policy makers and end users to discuss support issues. We provide a necessary publication venue to solicit papers on user support experiences, best practices, tools, and innovative efforts to improve user support at supercomputing centers.

2 Topics

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- defining and customising the user environment
- software build and installation tools
- workflow and pipeline tools
- collaboration tools
- supporting Hadoop and Spark clusters for Big Data
- establishing baseline configuration efforts for HPC
- software tools for system testing and monitor

3 Submission

We invite authors to submit original, high-quality work with sufficient background material to be clear to the HPC community. Papers should be submitted in PDF format and should not exceed 10 pages including tables, figures and appendices, but excluding references. They should be formatted according to the standard SC15 format, i.e., the double-column IEEE format for Conference Proceedings (IEEEtran LaTeX Class (template) V1.8 packages and IEEEtran V1.12 BibTeX (bibliography)). Similar to the SC15 policy, margins and font sizes should not be modified. We kindly refer authors to the necessary templates [2].

All submissions should be made electronically through the Easychair website [3]. Submissions must be double blind, i.e., authors should remove their names, institutions or hints found in references to earlier work. When discussing past work, they need to refer to themselves in the third person, as if they were discussing another researcher's work. Furthermore, authors must identify any conflict of interest with the PC chair or PC members.

Proceedings will be published in both IEEE Xplore and the ACM Digital library through collaboration with ACM SIGHPC.

4 Important dates

- Submission deadline: August 12th 2016
- Workshop paper reviews: by September 19th 2016
- Acceptance notifications: September 29th 2016
- Camera-ready papers: October 11th, 2016
- Workshop: At SC'16, November 13, 2016

5 Organisers

- Christopher Bording, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
- Todd Gamblin, LLNL, USA
- Vera Hansper, CSC, Finland

5.1 General Chair

• Christopher Bording

5.2 Program Chair

- Todd Gamblin
- Vera Hansper

5.3 Program Committee

- Daniel Ahlin, PDC HPC Center, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
- Wolfgang Frings, Juelich Supercomputing Centre, Germany
- Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
- Andy Georges, Ghent University, Belgium
- Christopher Harris, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
- Vera Hansper, CSC IT Center for Science, Finland
- Paul Kolano, NASA, USA
- Olli-Pekka Lehto, CSC IT Center for Science, Finland
- James Lin, Center for HPC, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
- John C. Linford, ParaTools, USA
- Robert McLay, Texas Advanced Computing Center, USA
- Dave Montoya, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
- Randy Schauer, Raytheon Company, USA
- Dane Skow, University of Wyoming, USA
- William Scullin, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
- Karen Tomko, Ohio Supercomputing Center, USA